Jean-Marie Laberge

Jean-Marie Laberge



The originality of Jean-Marie Laberge's work draws on the sculptor's inexhaustible imagination, served by impeccable drawing technique. In his bronzes, the essential motif is always solidly stated, but evanescent in its unique details.


Date and place of birth
Jean-Marie Laberge is a native of Chicoutimi. >>

Training and career
Trained in the prevailing art practices of the late 1960s at Université de Montréal, the artist perfected his technique at the École des Grands Maîtres in Paris from 1960 to 1964. He then extended his esthetical perceptions in an English environment at John Cass College in London and Central Washington University in 1967 and 1968, where he earned a masters degree in plastic arts with a major in sculpture. In the 1980s, he continued his training at Université du Québec à Chicoutimi. Finally, in 1989, he completed an extended internship in Sculptural Art in Bristol, England.

A sculptor, painter and educator, Jean-Marie Laberge is blessed with boundless inspiration. He has constantly honed his esthetic judgment throughout his career, leaving nothing to random chance in his work. Through careful compositions, the artist has achieved a maturity that secures him an enviable place in the Quebec art world. His monumental sculptures, most installed in the Saguenay region, are the crowning glory of a huge body of smaller works shown in many exhibitions around the world.

His work and his art
Jean-Marie Laberge's work owes its originality to his inexhaustible imagination served by impeccable design technique. A child's head vaguely covered by a headscarf, a person slightly bent over, a bird sailing just above the ground all provide in their banal vision the essential stimuli that allow the artist not only to penetrate the mysteries of nature, but also to discover the archetypes that exert an admirable fascination over the viewer's subconscious.

Jean-Marie Laberge's sculptures are a type of primitive expression broadly covered in space. The central motif is always clearly stated, but remains evanescent in its details. A mouth or eyes are especially noticeable when conjured through reduction to pure suggestion. His work stands in testimony to the interrogation that has survived bouts with the pure abstraction of recent decades. It has benefited greatly, as true visual poetry is always drawn from realism, no matter how distorted by hallucination.

At La Galerie d'art Au P'tit Bonheur
Since 1991.

Partial Archives
 vendu / sold 
Jean-Marie Laberge - La flûte enchantée  1/8

Jean-Marie Laberge - La flûte enchantée 1/8
16" x 25” x 10",
X

auptitbonheur.com

Jean-Marie Laberge

Jean-Marie Laberge



L'oeuvre de Jean-Marie Laberge doit sa marque originale à l'inépuisable imagination du sculpteur, laquelle est servie par une technique du dessin impeccable. Dans ses bronzes, le motif essentiel demeure toujours solidement déclaré, mais évanescent dans ses particularités.


Date et lieu de naissance
Jean-Marie Laberge est originaire de Chicoutimi. >>

Sa formation, sa carrière
Formé aux pratiques artistiques prévalant à la fin des années '60 à l'Université de Montréal, il parfait sa démarche à l'École des Grands Maîtres de Paris entre 1960 et 1964. Puis, il étend ses perceptions esthétiques en milieu anglo-saxon, au John Cass College de Londres et à la C. University de Washington en 1967 et 1968 où il obtient une maîtrise en arts plastiques avec majeure en sculpture. Au cours des années '80, il poursuit sa démarche à l'Université du Québec à Chicoutimi. Enfin, il effectue en 1989 un stage prolongé en Sculptural Art à Bristol, Angleterre.

Sculpteur, peintre et pédagogue, Jean-Marie Laberge est doté d'une inspiration jaillissante. Il n'a eu de cesse d'affiner son jugement esthétique au cours de sa carrière, ne laissant ainsi aucune prise à un hasard incohérent dans la réalisation de son oeuvre. Par ses compositions réfléchies, l'artiste a atteint une maturité qui lui assure une place enviable au sein de la gent artistique québécoise. Ses sculptures monumentales, érigées pour la plupart au Saguenay, constituent les fleurons d'une production d'oeuvres innombrables de taille moindre ayant fait l'objet de multiples expositions à travers le monde.

Son oeuvre, son art
L'oeuvre de Jean-Marie Laberge doit sa marque originale à son inépuisable imagination servie par une technique du dessin impeccable. Une tête d'enfant vaguement recouverte d'un fichu, un personnage légèrement accroupi, un oiseau effleurant le sol fournissent dans leur banalité de vision les stimuli essentiels permettant à l'artiste de pénétrer non seulement les mystères de la nature, mais également d'en dégager les archétypes exerçant une admirable fascination sur le subconscient du contemplateur.

Les sculptures de Jean-Marie Laberge sont des sortes d'écritures primordiales largement nappées dans l'espace. Le motif essentiel demeure toujours solidement déclaré, mais évanescent dans ses particularités. Une bouche ou des yeux sont d'autant plus présents qu'ils sont escamotés dans leur réduction à une pure suggestion. C'est ainsi que sa production constitue le témoignage d'un questionnement qui a survécu aux coups de butoir de l'abstraction pure des dernières décennies. Grand bien lui fasse, la poétique visuelle authentique sera toujours celle puisée dans le réalisme, si halluciné soit-il.

À la Galerie d'art Au P'tit Bonheur
Depuis 1991.

Archives partielles
 vendu / sold 
Jean-Marie Laberge - La flûte enchantée  1/8

Jean-Marie Laberge - La flûte enchantée 1/8
16" x 25” x 10",
X

auptitbonheur.com