Mickie Acierno

Mickie Acierno - Nature and light



By definition, Mickie Acierno's paintings are still life. But as those who know her work recognize, there's nothing very still about them. Indeed, her breathtaking brand of heightened realism has an almost electric intensity about it.


Date and place of birth
Mickie Acierno was born in New Westminster, British Columbia. She now lives in the environs of Calgary, Alberta.

Training and career
Acierno was painting from early childhood and received her first set of oils as a Christmas present when she was 11. By the time she was a teenager, she was painting landscapes, first in watercolours and then in oils, teaching herself the basics from a series of how-to books. At 24, she took a series of painting workshops. >>

Acierno painted on and off all the while she was raising her three children, but it wasn't until 2000 that she enrolled in the three-year graphic design program at the Univerity College of theFraser Valley in Abbotsford.


After Acierno received her diploma in 2003, she moved to Nanaimo on Vancouver Island and she began to devote herself to painting full-time. She immediately developed a disciplined and professional approach to her craft.

Her work and art
By definition, Mickie Acierno's paintings are still life. But as those who know her work recognize, there's nothing very still about them. Indeed, her breathtaking brand of heightened realism has an almost electric intensity about it. Acierno's work seems to glow as if lit from within.

Acierno's technique is to start with line and then work the painting for tonal values in black and white or brown and white, achieving depth by adding multiple layers of thin colour on top of that.

Static objects, ranging from porcelain teapots to gleaming glass marbles are so vividly rendered in her exacting, detailed oil paintings they seem poised to leap off the canvas. Her compositional juxtapositions seem to buzz with a life of their own, and when she paints fruits, as she frequently does, each orange, apple or grape seems so bursting with juice that salivating viewers can be excused for claiming to taste them. Her work varies widely in size, and even the smallest have an impact - but in her largest canvases the effect can be almost devastating.

The artist has developed an ingenious style through the dynamic portrayal of still life forms, filled with energy and a vitality that transforms static objects into human shapes and personalities that appear to be engaging in a dialogue with one another, or in a slow, graceful dance.

Still life definitely does not mean static in Acierno's paintings. Like characters in a play these objects tell stories that are magically endless.

At La Galerie d'art Au P'tit Bonheur
Since June 2013.

Partial Archives
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Upon A Summers Days

Mickie Acierno - Upon A Summers Days
24" x 48" x 2", 2017
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Its a Round World

Mickie Acierno - Its a Round World
12" x 36" x 2", 2019
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Better Than Silence

Mickie Acierno - Better Than Silence
16" x 24", 2019
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Within Arms Reach

Mickie Acierno - Within Arms Reach
22" x 28", 2018
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Together Forever

Mickie Acierno - Together Forever
12" x 36" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Kindred Spirit

Mickie Acierno - Kindred Spirit
12" x 12", 2013
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - A Bit of Madness

Mickie Acierno - A Bit of Madness
16" x 20", 2013
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - A World Apart

Mickie Acierno - A World Apart
12" x 36", 2015
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Daydreaming

Mickie Acierno - Daydreaming
12" x 36", 2017
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Cascade

Mickie Acierno - Cascade
12" x 24", 2014
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Forever Garden

Mickie Acierno - Forever Garden
12" x 24", 2014
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Pilgrimage

Mickie Acierno - Pilgrimage
16" x 26", 2017
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Upon Reflection

Mickie Acierno - Upon Reflection
18" x 24" x 2", 2017
X

auptitbonheur.com

Mickie Acierno

Mickie Acierno - Nature et lumière



Même si par définition Mickie Acierno compose des natures mortes, ses oeuvres sont vivantes, les objets qu'elle représente semblent s'animer sous nos yeux. En effet, le réalisme accru et l'intensité électrisante de ses sujets sont à couper le souffle. Ses tableaux brillent comme s'ils s'illuminaient de l'intérieur.


Date et lieu de naissance
Mickie Acierno est née à New Westminster, en Colombie-Britannique. Elle habite les environs de Calgary, Alberta, depuis 2017.

Sa formation, sa carrière
Acierno peint depuis sa tendre enfance. À l'âge de 11 ans, c'est avec enthousiasme qu'elle reçoit ses premiers tubes de peinture à l'huile pour Noël. Adolescente, elle peint de jolis paysages, d'abord à l'aquarelle puis à l'huile. Elle apprend par elle-même les rudiments de base de son art en consultant une série de livres expliquant, étape par étape, la marche à suivre pour réaliser ses premières oeuvres. À 24 ans, elle peaufine sa technique en suivant plusieurs ateliers de création. >>

Durant les années où Mickie se consacre à l'éducation de ses trois enfants, elle peint de manière sporadique. Puis, en 2000, elle s'inscrit au programme de graphisme au University College of the Fraser Valley à Abbotsford.


Après avoir reçu son diplôme en 2003, l'artiste s'installe sur l'île de Vancouver et s'adonne à la peinture à temps plein. Elle développe aussitôt une approche disciplinée et professionnelle.

Son oeuvre, son art
Même si par définition Mickie compose des natures mortes, ses oeuvres sont vivantes, les objets qu'elle représente semblent s'animer sous nos yeux. En effet, le réalisme accru et l'intensité électrisante de ses sujets sont à couper le souffle. Ses tableaux brillent comme s'ils s'illuminaient de l'intérieur.

Sur le canevas, Acierno commence en traçant soigneusement la ligne avant de travailler les valeurs tonales en noir et blanc ou en brun et blanc. Ensuite, elle ajoute délicatement de multiples et minces couches d'huiles pour réaliser de saisissants effets de profondeur.

Les objets inanimés, allant de théières en porcelaine aux billes de verre étincelantes, sont si vivement rendus et détaillés qu'ils semblent prêts à bondir hors de la toile. Quand elle peint des fruits, comme elle le fait souvent, chaque grain de raisin, quartier d'orange et morceau de pomme semblent si éclatants qu'on peut excuser l'observateur de vouloir y goûter tellement ils font saliver. Mickie s'exprime sur une multitude de formats qui varient de taille; si l'effet de ses grandes toiles est époustouflant, les plus petites n'ont rien à leur envier.

Au fil de son expérience, l'artiste a développé un style de composition ingénieux et réaliste. Vitalité et énergie se dégage de ses natures mortes. Comme les personnages d'une pièce de théâtre, ses objets, comme par magie, racontent des histoires sans fin.

À la Galerie d'art Au P'tit Bonheur
Depuis juin 2013.

Archives partielles
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Upon A Summers Days

Mickie Acierno - Upon A Summers Days
24" x 48" x 2", 2017
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - It’s a Round World

Mickie Acierno - It’s a Round World
12" x 36" x 2", 2019
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Better Than Silence

Mickie Acierno - Better Than Silence
16" x 24", 2019
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Within Arms Reach

Mickie Acierno - Within Arms Reach
22" x 28", 2018
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Together Forever

Mickie Acierno - Together Forever
12" x 36" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Kindred Spirit

Mickie Acierno - Kindred Spirit
12" x 12", 2013
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - A Bit of Madness

Mickie Acierno - A Bit of Madness
16" x 20", 2013
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - A World Apart

Mickie Acierno - A World Apart
12" x 36", 2015
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Daydreaming

Mickie Acierno - Daydreaming
12" x 36", 2017
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Cascade

Mickie Acierno - Cascade
12" x 24", 2014
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Forever Garden

Mickie Acierno - Forever Garden
12" x 24", 2014
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Pilgrimage

Mickie Acierno - Pilgrimage
16" x 26", 2017
 vendu / sold 
Mickie Acierno - Upon Reflection

Mickie Acierno - Upon Reflection
18" x 24" x 2", 2017
X

auptitbonheur.com