Shelley Mitchell

Shelley Mitchell; as the water flows



To Shelley Mitchell, boats are exotic symbols of freedom, adventure and pleasure. Each part of the day and every change in the weather give her inspiration. She is drawn to that thoughtful light at the edges of the day when colours are dramatic and shadows are deep.


Date and place of birth
Shelley Mitchell was born in 1952 in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Today, she splits her time between Halifax and Lunenburg. >>

Background and Career
Shelley Mitchell started as an architectural draftsperson and project manager, a career she pursued for many years before returning to the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design, where she earned her bachelor’s degree in Painting and Art History. Since then, she has shown professionally throughout the Maritime Provinces, Quebec, Ontario and Maine.

Work and art
The physical presence of Atlantic Canada, with its ever-changing atmosphere and diversity of land and sea and shore, moves Mitchell to paint continuously. Each part of the day and every change in the weather give her inspiration. She is drawn to that thoughtful light at the edges of the day when colours are dramatic and shadows are deep.

In her work, a boat reflects itself imperfectly or more astonishingly, perfectly in the water, creating a compelling symphony of colours, lines and textures. The graceful spread of the paint colours’ reflection over the water’s surface is reminiscent of the intricate folds of rich fabrics.

Mitchell goes to great lengths to find lovely handcrafted boats to paint. In the summer, she is constantly on the lookout as she sails through Nova Scotia and Maine. She also makes at least one trip down to the New England coast each and gladly drives or sails to remote (and not so remote) harbours in search of small boatyards and marinas.

To Shelley Mitchell, boats are exotic symbols of freedom, adventure, and pleasure. She is entranced by the elegance of their design. This is particularly true for tenders and other small boats which are very often hand made with care, craftsmanship and the best materials. Whether she finds these boats abandoned, working, idle or imagined, the extraordinary personality and loveliness of each one moves her to paint them much as artists have always painted the human figure: as a deeply meaningful object.

"What I want from a painting is a moment in time that shares my experience of that day surrounded by water, light and magic, a gift to myself and others."
— Shelley Mitchell

Her realist art conveys a powerful emotional message. Her paintings embody serenity, balance, and an escape into a tranquil moment.

At La Galerie d'art Au P'tit Bonheur
Since November 2020.

Partial Archives
 vendu / sold 
Shelley Mitchell - Vibrant

Shelley Mitchell - Vibrant
36" x 36" x 2", 2020
 vendu / sold 
Shelley Mitchell - Night Watch

Shelley Mitchell - Night Watch
24" x 36" x 2", 2020
 vendu / sold 
Shelley Mitchell - Dream Boat

Shelley Mitchell - Dream Boat
30" x 48" x 2", 2020
 vendu / sold 
Shelley Mitchell - Magic Hour

Shelley Mitchell - Magic Hour
36" x 48" x 2", 2020
X

auptitbonheur.com

Shelley Mitchell

Shelley Mitchell; Au fil de l'eau



Pour Shelley Mitchell, les bateaux sont symboles de liberté, d’aventure et de plaisir. Particulièrement attirée par la lumière de début et de fin de journée – lorsque les couleurs sont riches et les ombres profondes, elle aime s'attarder à la surface de l’eau.


Sa date et son lieu de naissance
Shelley Mitchell est née en 1952 à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Aujourd’hui, elle partage son temps entre Halifax et Lunenburg. >>

Sa formation, sa carrière
Shelley Mitchell a d'abord fait carrière comme dessinatrice en architecture et chef de projet pendant de nombreuses années avant de retourner à l’Université Nova Scotia College of Art and Design, où elle a obtenu un baccalauréat en peinture et en histoire de l’art. Depuis lors, ses œuvres ont été exposées dans les provinces maritimes, au Québec, en Ontario et dans le Maine.

Son oeuvre, son art
La Côte atlantique, avec son atmosphère toujours changeante et la diversité de la terre, de la mer et du littoral, est une source intarissable d'inspiration pour l'artiste. Chaque moment de la journée et chaque changement d'atmosphère recèle de nouvelles beautés à peindre. Particulièrement attirée par la lumière de début et de fin de journée – lorsque les couleurs sont riches et les ombres profondes, elle aime s'attarder à la surface de l’eau, se perdre dans ses reflets.

Dans les huiles de Shelley Mitchell, un bateau se reflète imparfaitement et parfois même, étonnamment, parfaitement dans l’eau, créant une symphonie attirante de couleurs, de lignes et de textures. La façon dont les couleurs s’allongent avec élégance dans la réflexion rappelle les plis complexes des tissus riches.

L'artiste ne ménage pas ses efforts pour dénicher de beaux bateaux artisanaux à peindre. En été, elle est constamment à l’affût, alors qu'elle navigue en Nouvelle-Écosse et dans le Maine. Elle fait aussi au moins un voyage par année sur la côte de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et se rend volontiers, en voiture s'il le faut, dans des ports à la recherche de petits chantiers maritimes et de marinas.

Pour l'artiste, les bateaux sont des symboles exotiques de liberté, d’aventure et de plaisir. L'élégance de leur conception la fascine. C’est particulièrement vrai pour les barques et autres petits bateaux qui sont très souvent fabriqués à la main avec soin, savoir-faire et des matériaux de choix. Que ces bateaux soient abandonnés, en usage, à flot ou qu'elle les aie imaginés à l'eau, elle les peint comme d’autres artistes peignent la figure humaine – comme un objet profondément significatif. On sent l’extraordinaire personnalité et la beauté de chacun.

« Ce que je souhaite évoquer avec mes peintures, c’est un moment dans le temps qui exprime mon expérience de ce jour entouré d’eau, de lumière et de magie : un cadeau pour moi et pour les autres. »
— Shelley Mitchell

Réaliste, son art véhicule un message émotionnel puissant. Ses œuvres incarnent la sérénité, l’équilibre et l’évasion vers un moment de quiétude.

À la Galerie d'art Au P'tit Bonheur
Depuis novembre 2020.

Archives partielles
 vendu / sold 
Shelley Mitchell - Vibrant

Shelley Mitchell - Vibrant
36" x 36" x 2", 2020
 vendu / sold 
Shelley Mitchell - Night Watch

Shelley Mitchell - Night Watch
24" x 36" x 2", 2020
 vendu / sold 
Shelley Mitchell - Dream Boat

Shelley Mitchell - Dream Boat
30" x 48" x 2", 2020
 vendu / sold 
Shelley Mitchell - Magic Hour

Shelley Mitchell - Magic Hour
36" x 48" x 2", 2020
X

auptitbonheur.com