Tammy Shane

Tammy Shane - Happiness is in the field



Tammy Shane interprets these traditional scenes of realism with subtle touches of whimsical interpretation.


Date and place of birth
Born in 1978, Tammy Shane grew up on the outskirts of Kingston, Ontario. "I've always been a country girl" says Tammy, who credits her rural upbringing as the main influence for her work - and not just as a subject matter. "It taught me to slow down, pay attention, listen, take in my environment and record every detail on paper." >>

Background and career
A Fine Arts Graduate of Brock University, artist Tammy Shane finished the final year of her Bachelor degree at Queen's University. Following graduation, Tammy completed a post-graduate course in Advanced Illustration at Sheridan College where she further explored a variety of different mediums, finally specializing in acrylic on canvas.

Her work and her art
Since childhood, Tammy Shane was captivated by the natural world and it played an essential role in her future years. In 2007, she started to exhibit and sell her work, with many of her paintings showing the dynamic and imagery of everyday rural life. "Over the past few years, I have moved more into realism within my immediate subject matter, accompanied by a more contemporary background. It's a way to get closer to my subject. For me, it always comes back to the skyscapes, cloudscapes and landscapes".

With a strong background in illustration, each piece has its own personality. Breathtaking landscapes with turbulent skies to local wildlife, she successfully interprets these traditional scenes of realism with subtle touches of whimsical interpretation. "By working in the nuances I have an opportunity to re-visit a subject, time or place, and re-live an experience. I am captivated by the natural world and use it as a starting point for many of my pieces. Even now living in suburbia I find myself moving toward and observing rural areas. I appreciate that everyday rural imagery can be dynamic and full of life."

Whether the inspiration comes from a snapshot found in her travels or a birds nest in her own backyard, these visuals are translated onto canvas. "Colour and composition play an essential role in my work; much time is spent experimenting with the intensity and luminosity of the background while paying special attention to how the subject is composed on the canvas. I am always learning, developing, and expanding my knowledge with each piece I create" says Shane.

At La Galerie d'art Au P'tit Bonheur
Since July 2017.

Partial Archives
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Early Bird II

Tammy Shane - Early Bird II
12" x 12" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Still Waters

Tammy Shane - Still Waters
36" x 36" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Quiet Places

Tammy Shane - Quiet Places
36" x 48" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Evening Hush

Tammy Shane - Evening Hush
30" x 40" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Follow Me

Tammy Shane - Follow Me
30" x 36" x 2", 2017
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Here Comes the Sun

Tammy Shane - Here Comes the Sun
20" x 16" x 2", 2019
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - October Reflections

Tammy Shane - October Reflections
36" x 36" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Arthur

Tammy Shane - Arthur
25" x 25" x 2", 2017
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Winter White

Tammy Shane - Winter White
36" x 48" x 2", 2019
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Hazel

Tammy Shane - Hazel
26" x 19" x 2", 2019
X

auptitbonheur.com

Tammy Shane

Tammy Shane - Le bonheur est dans le pré



Tammy Shane interprète avec succès des scènes traditionnelles de réalisme au moyen de notes subtiles d'interprétation fantaisiste.


Sa date et son lieu de naissance
Née en 1978, Tammy Shane a grandi aux abords de la ville de Kingston (Ontario). « J'ai toujours été une fille de campagne », dit Tammy, qui a grandi dans un milieu rural. Selon elle, cette ruralité a été la principale influence pour son travail et pas seulement un sujet. « Ce milieu m'a enseigné à ralentir, à être attentive, à écouter, à assimiler mon environnement et à consigner chaque détail sur papier. » >>

Sa formation, sa carrière
Diplômée dans les beaux-arts de l'Université Brock, l'artiste Tammy Shane a fait la dernière année de son baccalauréat à l'Université Queen's. Après l'obtention de son diplôme, Tammy a terminé un programme d'études supérieures en illustration avancée au Sheridan College, où elle a approfondi un éventail de méthodes et s'est spécialisée dans l'acrylique sur toile.

Son oeuvre, son art
Depuis son enfance, Tammy Shane est fascinée par la nature, qui a joué un rôle essentiel pour son avenir. En 2007, elle a commencé à exposer et à vendre ses oeuvres. Beaucoup de ses peintures illustrent le dynamisme et le langage pictural du quotidien en milieu rural. « Au cours des dernières années, je me suis dirigée davantage vers le réalisme dans mon sujet immédiat et vers un arrière-plan plus contemporain. C'est une façon pour moi de me rapprocher de mon sujet. Je reviens toujours aux paysages célestes, aux nuages et aux paysages terrestres ».

Comme l'arrière-plan est riche, chaque oeuvre possède sa propre personnalité. Des paysages à couper le souffle, où l'on voit des cieux turbulents, à la faune locale, elle interprète avec succès des scènes traditionnelles de réalisme au moyen de notes subtiles d'interprétation fantaisiste. « En travaillant dans les nuances, j'ai la possibilité de réexaminer un sujet, une époque ou un lieu, et de revivre une expérience. Je suis fascinée par la nature et je l'utilise comme point de départ de beaucoup de mes oeuvres. Même si je vis en banlieue, je me dirige vers les régions rurales pour les observer. Je suis consciente que les images quotidiennes en milieu rural peuvent être dynamiques et pleines de vie. »

Que l'inspiration provienne d'un instantané trouvé au cours de ses voyages ou d'un nid d'oiseaux dans son arrière-cour, ces scènes visuelles sont reproduites sur des toiles. « La couleur et la composition jouent un rôle essentiel dans mon travail. Je passe beaucoup de temps à expérimenter avec l'intensité et la luminosité de l'arrière-plan, tout en accordant une attention spéciale à la façon dont le sujet est composé sur la toile. Chacune de mes créations me permet d'apprendre, de me développer et d'enrichir mes connaissances », dit Shane.

À la Galerie d'art Au P'tit Bonheur
Depuis juillet 2017.

Archives partielles
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Early Bird II

Tammy Shane - Early Bird II
12" x 12" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Still Waters

Tammy Shane - Still Waters
36" x 36" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Quiet Places

Tammy Shane - Quiet Places
36" x 48" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Evening Hush

Tammy Shane - Evening Hush
30" x 40" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Follow Me

Tammy Shane - Follow Me
30" x 36" x 2", 2017
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Here Comes the Sun

Tammy Shane - Here Comes the Sun
20" x 16" x 2", 2019
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - October Reflections

Tammy Shane - October Reflections
36" x 36" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Arthur

Tammy Shane - Arthur
25" x 25" x 2", 2017
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Winter White

Tammy Shane - Winter White
36" x 48" x 2", 2019
 vendu / sold 
Tammy Shane - Hazel

Tammy Shane - Hazel
26" x 19" x 2", 2019
X

auptitbonheur.com