St-Gilles

St-Gilles - Passionate interpreter of nature



Blessed with huge talent and great strength of character, St-Gilles has become one of the most influential landscape painters of his generation. Since 1999, this lover of the great outdoors has taken on a major challenge, as he crisscrosses Canada to paint every province and territory.


Date and place of birth
The painter St-Gilles was born in Quebec City in 1956. >>

Training
St-Gilles studied at the college of Sainte-Foy and holds a diploma of collegial studies in presentation esthetics. He began studying painting at a very young age. He was introduced to this art by Arthur Genest, Paul Brien, Mario Mauro and Bruno Côté. This last painter introduced him to the Charlevoix region. The artist was first known for his watercolours before changing to oils, his current medium. He has done research tours in France, Italy, the Canadian North and the Magdalen Islands.

Career
The career of this young landscape artist began on a high note. In 1979, St-Gilles, who was not yet 25 years old, held his first individual exhibition. He broke into the Montreal art world in 1981. St-Gilles has since maintained his momentum: from 1982 to the present, he has held more than 25 solo exhibitions in several major Canadian cities. This landscape painter is very popular with connoisseurs, especially for his great talent as a colourist.

St-Gilles has become one of the most influential landscape artists of his generation. Since 1999, this lover of nature in all its glory took on a daunting challenge: to criss-cross the country seeking outstanding sites and build a collection of about 120 large paintings for a permanent exhibition. To read the summary of St-Gilles' Great Canadian Adventure, please click here.

His work and his art
Looking at a St-Gilles painting, one immediately realizes that the life and craft of this painter are closely linked to a great respect for people and places. «Through the landscapes they discover in my paintings, people gain an awareness of the wealth of the places that surround us and a love that encourages them to protect those places,» the artist explains.

Space and light take centre stage in St-Gilles' work, in which the most lasting impression is one of vastness. From the distant sky to the foreground of the painting, everything comes together to create a consistent quality of composition. His paintings always feature a dominant hue, and water is present in most of his landscapes, no doubt a reflection of the first impressions experienced from the top of Cap Diamant.

Through his broad perspective, St-Gilles shares with us his emotion and admiration. He captures one happy instant, retrieves it and draws us in. What we see cannot fail to excite our imagination. Nature is more than a copse of trees, it is height and distance. The horizon shifts from land to liquid to fog to mountains, while the sky unfolds its fantasies above the river. In a word, his spaces never fail to feed our wanderlust!

At La Galerie d'art Au P'tit Bonheur
Since 1997.

St-Gilles

William Peter Latouche and St-Gilles. Near Coldwater, Mistassini, Qc. March 2007.

St-Gilles St-Gilles
St-Gilles

Cap Bonavista, Nfld

St-Gilles

Cap Bonavista, Nfld

St-Gilles

Cap Bonavista, Nfld

St-Gilles

Bighorn, Jasper Park, October 2004

St-Gilles

Parc Gros Morne et Greenpoint, June 10, 1999

St-Gilles

Peggy's Cove, April 12, 2000, N.S.

St-Gilles

Lake of Two Rivers
Algonquin Park, Ont., October 5, 2000

St-Gilles

Anse-aux-Gascons, Gaspésie, october 2001

St-Gilles

Bic, October 2001

St-Gilles St-Gilles

Natashquan River

St-Gilles

Wedgeport, N.S., Sept. 04

St-Gilles

Bighorn, Rocky Mountain, 2004

St-Gilles

Scotia Trawler Equipment Ltd.
Shipyard 1900, Lunenburg

St-Gilles

Au quai de l'Ile-Verte

St-Gilles St-Gilles
Partial Archives
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - L’Anse-aux-Gascons, Gaspésie, Qc

St-Gilles - L’Anse-aux-Gascons, Gaspésie, Qc
16" x 20" x 2", 2019
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Village de Prospect N.-E.

St-Gilles - Village de Prospect N.-E.
30" x 40" x 2", 2017
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - En route vers le Nord, Rivière aux Feuilles, Ungava, Québec

St-Gilles - En route vers le Nord, Rivière aux Feuilles, Ungava, Québec
30" x 40" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Seal Cove, Grand Manan Island, N.B.

St-Gilles - Seal Cove, Grand Manan Island, N.B.
30" x 40" x 2", 2020
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Poudrerie à St-Germain, Kamouraska, Qc

St-Gilles - Poudrerie à St-Germain, Kamouraska, Qc
20" x 40" x 2", 2016
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Octobre au lac Tremblant, Qc

St-Gilles - Octobre au lac Tremblant, Qc
24" x 30" x 2", 2020
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Première neige aux Éboulements

St-Gilles - Première neige aux Éboulements
36" x 48" x 2", 2020
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Le Fjord à Ste-Rose-du-Nord

St-Gilles - Le Fjord à Ste-Rose-du-Nord
30" x 50" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Pêche d’automne, Sagard, Charlevoix, Qc

St-Gilles - Pêche d’automne, Sagard, Charlevoix, Qc
30" x 40" x 2", 2019
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Soir d’automne, Saint-Germain, Kamouraska, Québec

St-Gilles - Soir d’automne, Saint-Germain, Kamouraska, Québec
30" x 40" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Un dimanche d’octobre, Les Éboulements

St-Gilles - Un dimanche d’octobre, Les Éboulements
30" x 40" x 2", 2019
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - L’hiver au camp

St-Gilles - L’hiver au camp
16" x 20" x 2", 2019
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Campements Cree, Baie du Poste, Mistassini, Qc

St-Gilles - Campements Cree, Baie du Poste, Mistassini, Qc
40" x 50" x 2", 2019
X

auptitbonheur.com

St-Gilles

St-Gilles - Interprète passionné de la nature



Fort d'un immense talent et d'une grande force de caractère, St-Gilles s'impose comme l'un des peintres paysagistes les plus influents de sa génération. Depuis 1999, cet amoureux de grande nature se consacre à un défi de taille; sillonner le pays de part en part pour peindre l'ensemble des provinces et des territoires canadiens.


Date et lieu de naissance
Le peintre St-Gilles est né à Québec en 1956. >>

Sa formation
St-Gilles a étudié au collège de Sainte-Foy et détient un diplôme d'études collégiales en esthétique de présentation. Il a commencé très jeune à étudier la peinture. Il s'initia à cet art auprès d'Arthur Genest, puis de Paul Brien, de Mario Mauro et de Bruno Côté. C'est d'ailleurs ce dernier qui lui a fait connaître la région de Charlevoix. L'artiste s'est d'abord fait connaître par ses aquarelles, pour ensuite passer à l'huile, sa technique actuelle. Il a fait des voyages de recherche en France, en Italie, dans le Nord canadien et aux Iles-de-la-Madeleine.

Sa carrière
La carrière de ce jeune paysagiste a connu un excellent départ. En effet, dès 1979, St-Gilles --qui n'a pas encore 25 ans-- tient sa première exposition individuelle. L'année 1981 marque sa percée dans les milieux d'art montréalais. St-Gilles continue sur sa lancée : de 1982 à nos jours, il a tenu plus de 25 expositions solo dans plusieurs grandes villes canadiennes. Ce paysagiste est fort apprécié des connaisseurs, notamment pour son grand talent de coloriste.

Aujourd'hui, St-Gilles s'impose comme l'un des peintres paysagistes les plus influents de sa génération. Depuis 1999, cet amoureux de grande nature se consacre à un défi de taille; sillonner le pays de part en part, à la recherche de sites exceptionnels pour composer une collection de plus ou moins 120 tableaux de grands formats qui feront l'objet d'une exposition permanente. Pour lire le compte-rendu de la Grande aventure canadienne de St-Gilles, nous vous invitons à cliquer ici.

Son oeuvre, son art
Quand on contemple une des toiles de St-Gilles, une idée nous vient tout de suite à l'esprit : la vie et le métier de ce peintre sont intimement liés à un grand respect des lieux et des gens. «Par les paysages qu'ils découvrent sur mes toiles, les gens deviennent conscients de la richesse des lieux qui nous entourent et contribuent, en les aimant, à les sauvegarder», de dire l'artiste.

L'espace et la lumière règnent dans l'oeuvre de St-Gilles où l'impression la plus constante est celle d'immensité. Des profondeurs du ciel au premier plan de la toile, tout se tient. La qualité de la composition ne se dément jamais. On note qu'il existe toujours une teinte dominante dans ses tableaux. On observe aussi que l'eau est présente dans la majorité de ses paysages, reflet sans doute des premières impressions ressenties du haut du Cap Diamant.

Grâce à ses grandes perspectives, St-Gilles nous fait partager son émotion et son admiration. Il saisit un instant heureux, le restitue et nous entraîne avec lui. Ce qu'on voit ne peut qu'exciter l'imagination. La nature est plus qu'un bouquet d'arbres, elle est hauteur et distance. L'horizon devient tour à tour terrestre, liquide, embrumé et montagneux. Le ciel déploie ses fantasmes sur le fleuve. Bref, l'espace n'en finit plus de nous inviter à prendre le large !

À La Galerie d'art Au P'tit Bonheur
Depuis 1997.

St-Gilles

William Peter Latouche et St-Gilles. Vers Coldwater, Mistassini, Qc. Mars 2007.

St-Gilles St-Gilles
St-Gilles

Cap Bonavista, Terre-Neuve

St-Gilles

Cap Bonavista, Terre-Neuve

St-Gilles

Cap Bonavista, Terre-Neuve

St-Gilles

Bighorn, Jasper Park, Octobre 2004

St-Gilles

Parc Gros Morne et Greenpoint, 10 juin 1999

St-Gilles

Peggy's Cove, 12 avril 2000, N.E.

St-Gilles

Lake of Two Rivers
Algonquin Park, Ont., 5 octobre 2000

St-Gilles

Anse-aux-Gascons, Gaspésie, octobre 2001

St-Gilles

Bic, Octobre 2001

St-Gilles St-Gilles

Rivière Natashquan

St-Gilles

Wedgeport, N.E., Sept. 04

St-Gilles

Bighorn, Montagnes Rocheuses, 2004

St-Gilles

Scotia Trawler Equipment Ltd.
Shipyard 1900, Lunenburg

St-Gilles

Au quai de l'Ile-Verte

St-Gilles St-Gilles
Archives partielles
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - L’Anse-aux-Gascons, Gaspésie, Qc

St-Gilles - L’Anse-aux-Gascons, Gaspésie, Qc
16" x 20" x 2", 2019
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Village de Prospect N.-E.

St-Gilles - Village de Prospect N.-E.
30" x 40" x 2", 2017
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - En route vers le Nord, Rivière aux Feuilles, Ungava, Québec

St-Gilles - En route vers le Nord, Rivière aux Feuilles, Ungava, Québec
30" x 40" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Seal Cove, Grand Manan Island, N.B.

St-Gilles - Seal Cove, Grand Manan Island, N.B.
30" x 40" x 2", 2020
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Poudrerie à St-Germain, Kamouraska, Qc

St-Gilles - Poudrerie à St-Germain, Kamouraska, Qc
20" x 40" x 2", 2016
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Octobre au lac Tremblant, Qc

St-Gilles - Octobre au lac Tremblant, Qc
24" x 30" x 2", 2020
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Première neige aux Éboulements

St-Gilles - Première neige aux Éboulements
36" x 48" x 2", 2020
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Le Fjord à Ste-Rose-du-Nord

St-Gilles - Le Fjord à Ste-Rose-du-Nord
30" x 50" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Pêche d’automne, Sagard, Charlevoix, Qc

St-Gilles - Pêche d’automne, Sagard, Charlevoix, Qc
30" x 40" x 2", 2019
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Soir d’automne, Saint-Germain, Kamouraska, Québec

St-Gilles - Soir d’automne, Saint-Germain, Kamouraska, Québec
30" x 40" x 2", 2018
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Un dimanche d’octobre, Les Éboulements

St-Gilles - Un dimanche d’octobre, Les Éboulements
30" x 40" x 2", 2019
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - L’hiver au camp

St-Gilles - L’hiver au camp
16" x 20" x 2", 2019
 vendu / sold 
St-Gilles - Campements Cree, Baie du Poste, Mistassini, Qc

St-Gilles - Campements Cree, Baie du Poste, Mistassini, Qc
40" x 50" x 2", 2019
X

auptitbonheur.com