Carole Malcolm

Filter




Carole Malcolm, signature

Carole Malcolm, painterCarole Malcolm - An invitation to travel and dream
Date and Place of Birth
Carole Malcolm was born in 1958 in Dieppe, a small town outside of Moncton, New Brunswick. She now lives in Oxford Station, Ontario.

Background and Career
Carole has been drawing and painting since she was a child. Even if life leads her to other horizons, notably a military career, her artistic vocation is never far away. Essentially self-taught, she has devoted herself full-time to her art since 1995.

Work and art
Years after leaving her native land, she revisits the place of her childhood, this time as an artist. This environment has become one of her greatest sources of inspiration. Her memories continue to influence her work even in the preparation process, where she makes sketches on the spot or collects reference material, and finally finishes her paintings in her studio.Carole Malcolm, painter

The infinite spectacle of the sea fascinates her. She lingers on the movement of the wave, which is constantly slipping away and being reborn. This endless story, with its reassuring rhythm, becomes a permanent source of inspiration for her. The same applies to her landscapes of undergrowth bathed in light. Through the movement of the wave and the sun's path over the trees, she wants to capture the moment and eternity. To capture the elusive, to translate the light and to invite the viewer to take a break and suspend his daily routine.
Carole Malcolm, painter

Driven by her interest in natural landscapes, the artist painted for years as a watercolourist before discovering liquid acrylic. With the addition of the spatula to her toolbox, texture now completes her work. She prepares her canvas with several layers of gesso and relief paste to build a textured painting surface. Then, on a well-wet canvas, numerous washes of colour are applied in slurries, splashes, rubbings and drybrushes. Lines, colours and reliefs intertwine with subtlety in her compositions, creating a powerful gestural impression. Above all, she likes the fact that each step is not planned and controlled, that she can explore the impression of a landscape;
" I like above all that it is impossible to predict the final result, especially because the paint follows its own course on the irregular surface, which produces something different each time. "

With a romantic influence, Carole Malcolm's work reveals an artist in communion with her subject, where nature appears as an immense reserve of energy, escape and peace.

Carole Malcolm has been represented by Au P'tit Bonheur Art Gallery since May 2016.

Carole Malcolm

Filtrer




    Carole Malcolm, signature

    Carole Malcolm, artiste peintreCarole Malcolm - Une invitation au voyage et au rêve
    Sa date et son lieu de naissance
    Carole Malcolm a vu le jour en 1958 à Dieppe, une petite ville en banlieue de Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle vit aujourd'hui à Oxford Station, en Ontario.

    Sa formation, sa carrière
    Carole dessine et peint depuis sa plus tendre enfance. Même si la vie l'entraîne vers d'autres horizons, notamment vers une carrière militaire, sa vocation artistique n'est jamais bien loin. Essentiellement autodidacte, elle se consacre à temps plein à son art depuis 1995.

    Son oeuvre, son art
    Des années après avoir quitté sa terre natale, elle revisite les lieux de son enfance cette fois en tant qu’artiste. Cet environnement est devenu l'une de ses plus grandes sources d’inspiration. Ses souvenirs continuent à influencer son travail même dans le processus de préparation, où elle réalise des ébauches sur place ou collecte des éléments de référence, pour finalement terminer ses toiles dans son atelier.Carole Malcolm, artiste peintre

    Le spectacle infini de la mer la fascine. Elle s'attarde au mouvement de la vague qui se dérobe et renaît sans cesse. Cette histoire sans fin, au rythme rassurant, devient pour elle une source permanente d'inspiration. Il en va de même pour ses paysages de sous-bois baignés de lumière. À travers le mouvement de la vague et la course du soleil sur les arbres, elle veut capter l'instant et l'éternité. Saisir l'insaisissable, traduire la lumière et inviter le spectateur à prendre une pause et suspendre son train-train quotidien.
    Carole Malcolm, artiste peintre

    Portée par son intérêt pour les paysages naturels, l'artiste peint pendant des années en tant qu'aquarelliste avant de découvrir l'acrylique liquide. Avec l'ajout de la spatule à sa boîte à outils, la texture complète maintenant son travail. Elle prépare sa toile à l'aide de plusieurs couches de gesso et de pâte à relief pour construire une surface à peindre texturée. Puis, sur une toile bien mouillée, de nombreux lavis de couleur sont appliqués en coulis, éclaboussures, frottis et brossés à sec. Lignes, couleurs et reliefs s'enlacent avec subtilité dans ses compositions, créant une puissante impression gestuelle. Elle aime par-dessus tout que chaque étape ne soit pas planifiée et contrôlée, qu'elle puisse explorer l'impression d'un paysage;
    « J'aime par dessus tout qu'il soit impossible de prédire le résultat final, notamment parce que la peinture suit sa propre course sur la surface irrégulière, ce qui produit quelque chose de différent à chaque fois. »

    D’influence romantique, le travail de Carole Malcolm révèle une artiste en communion avec son sujet, où la nature apparaît comme une immense réserve d'énergie, d'évasion et de paix.

    Carole Malcolm est représentée par la Galerie d'art Au P'tit Bonheur depuis mai 2016.