Erica Hawkes

Filter




Erica Hawkes, signature

Erica Hawkes, painter

Erica Hawkes, a contemporary painter from Kelowna, British Columbia, is known for her warm, modern landscape paintings: colourful scenes rendered in geometric shapes and lines. Her works express a distinct aesthetic in their vistas, luminous colours, and boldly contoured shapes.

Erica Hawkes - New Horizons

Date and place of birth
Born in 1975, Erica Hawkes grew up in the countryside around Prince George, in northern British Columbia, surrounded by open spaces and nature. Today, she lives in Kelowna, Okanagan Valley with her husband and two children.

Her education, her career
Erica studied design at the Colorado Institute of Art in Denver, Colorado. Years later, she continued her studies in Vancouver and graduated with a degree in fashion design. For the past 20 years she has worked in book illustration, portraiture, art education and photography. She has worked in a variety of mediums including graphite, watercolor, India ink and oil paint before finally settling on acrylic paint. Erica is well known for her landscape paintings: colourful scenes powerfully rendered with geometric shapes and lines. She now works full time as a professional artist and her work is currently exhibited in various galleries across Canada.

Her work, her art
Largely self-taught, Erica owes her unique style to a variety of influences. Most of her body of work is painted in a style she has dubbed "New 7", which pays homage to the Group of Seven. She is also inspired by the organic sinuous lines and curves of the Art Nouveau movement of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, and has affinities with Cubism and Japanese Minimalism. These influences give Erica's landscapes a modern, contemporary feel with a touch of nostalgia.

The artist's work expresses a very personal aesthetic with its perspectives, bright colours and boldly contoured forms. Rolling mountains, silky clouds and reflective bodies of water are immortalized in highly angular or elegantly sinuous expanses of color. Erica's paintings have an inherent luminosity that immediately draws and captures the audience's attention.

Erica Hawkes strives to infuse her passion for nature and the beauty that surrounds us into each work:
" I want every detail to add, rather than take away, from the painting, so I look to do better with less. I focus more on the balance between light and dark and the overall harmony of each painting. I do my best to captivate the audience with bold colors and shapes. My goal is to catch your eye and make it travel through the painting, hoping to evoke a sense of peace or happiness. »

Erica Hawkes is represented by the Galerie d'art Au P'tit Bonheur since March 2020, exclusively for Quebec.

Erica Hawkes

Filtrer




Erica Hawkes, signature

Erica Hawkes, artiste peintre

Erica Hawkes - Nouveaux horizons

Sa date et son lieu de naissance
Née en 1975, Erica Hawkes a grandi en campagne dans les environs de Prince George, dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique, entourée de grands espaces et de nature. Aujourd’hui, elle vit à Kelowna, dans la vallée de l’Okanagan, avec son mari et ses deux enfants.

Sa formation, sa carrière
Erica a étudié le design au Colorado Institute of Art à Denver, dans le Colorado. Des années plus tard, elle a poursuivi ses études à Vancouver et a obtenu un diplôme en design de mode. Au cours des 20 dernières années, elle a travaillé dans les domaines de l’illustration de livres, du portrait, de l’enseignement des arts et de la photographie. Elle a travaillé avec divers médiums, notamment le graphite, l’aquarelle, l’encre de Chine et la peinture à l’huile, avant de finalement opter pour la peinture acrylique. Erica est bien connue pour ses peintures de paysages : des scènes colorées rendues avec force au moyen de formes et de lignes géométriques. Elle travaille maintenant à plein temps comme artiste professionnelle et ses œuvres sont actuellement exposées dans diverses galeries au Canada.

Son oeuvre, son art
En grande partie autodidacte, Erica doit son style unique à une variété d’influences. L’essentiel de son corpus d’œuvres est peint dans un style qu’elle a baptisé « Nouveau 7 », qui rend hommage au Groupe des sept. Elle est également inspirée par les lignes sinueuses et courbes organiques du mouvement de l’Art nouveau de la fin du 19e et du début du 20e siècle, et elle a des affinités avec le cubisme et le minimalisme japonais. Ces influences confèrent aux paysages d’Erica un aspect moderne et contemporain avec une touche de nostalgie.

Les œuvres de cette artiste expriment une esthétique toute personnelle par ses perspectives, ses couleurs lumineuses et ses formes aux contours audacieux. Des montagnes ondulantes, des nuages soyeux et des étendues d’eau réfléchissantes sont immortalisés par des étendues de couleur fortement anguleuses ou élégamment sinueuses. Les peintures d’Erica possèdent une luminosité inhérente qui attire et capte immédiatement l’attention du public. 

Erica Hawkes s’efforce d’insuffler sa passion pour la nature et la beauté qui nous entoure dans chaque œuvre :
« Je veux que chaque détail ajoute, plutôt qu’enlève, quelque chose au tableau, donc je cherche à faire mieux avec moins. Je me concentre davantage sur l’équilibre entre la lumière et l’obscurité ainsi que sur l’harmonie générale de chaque tableau. Je fais de mon mieux pour captiver le public avec des couleurs et des formes audacieuses. Mon but est d’attirer votre regard et de lui faire parcourir le tableau, en espérant susciter un sentiment de paix ou de bonheur. »

Erica Hawkes est représentée par la Galerie d'art Au P'tit Bonheur depuis mars 2020, en exclusivité pour le Québec.